Medical Marijuana

At Miami Acupuncture Therapy, we are now offering prescriptions for the medical cannabis card. We staff a medical doctor licensed and certified to prescribe in the Florida Medical Marijuana program. This service is available Wednesdays by appointment. Please call 786-972-1616.

 

Please be advised that we do not dispense or carry any of the product. A patient must first obtain a Medical Marijuana card from the FL dept of Health after receiving a prescription from a certified physician. Afterward, the patient may then go to an approved dispensary (Trulieve and Curaleaf in Dade County) to purchase the prescribed herbal product. 

 

So to summarize, here are the steps to be taken when needing medical cannabis:

#1 Make an appointment to see an approved medical doctor for the prescription.

#2 Gather all supporting past medical records and documentation of other remedies and interventions treat your condition and send to the office where you will be seen.

#3 Be seen at your appointment by the physician. The physician will submit your prescription into the Florida Dept of Health Registry.

#4 Apply with the FL Dept of Health to obtain the Medical Marijuana Medical Card. They charge a $75 fee. Once approved, you may then take your prescription and follow step #5.

#5  Take your prescription to an approved dispensary and purchase the prescribed medicinal product.   

 

Approved Conditions:

Qualified physicians may order low-THC cannabis for a qualified patient conditions enumerated in section 381.986, Florida Statutes.
Qualifying conditions include:

  • Cancer  (click here for links of research that show benefits of MMJ vs cancer)
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • AIDS
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis (MS)
  • Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those above
  • A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician other than the qualified physician issuing the physician certification
  • Chronic nonmalignant pain caused by a qualifying medical condition or that originates from a qualifying medical condition and persists beyond the usual course of that qualifying medical condition

If a patient is younger than 18 years of age, a second physician must concur with the determination to treat the patient with low-THC cannabis.

 

The medical use of low-THC cannabis does NOT include the following as stated in Section 381.986(1)(j), F.S.:
  1. Possession, use, or administration of marijuana that was not purchased or acquired from a medical marijuana treatment center.
  2. Possession, use, or administration of marijuana in a form for smoking, in the form of commercially produced food items other than edibles, or of marijuana seeds or flower, except for flower in a sealed, tamper-proof receptacle for vaping.
  3. Use or administration of any form or amount of marijuana in a manner that is inconsistent with the qualified physician’s directions or physician certification.
  4. Transfer of marijuana to a person other than the qualified patient for whom it was authorized or the qualified patient’s caregiver on behalf of the qualified patient.
  5. Use or administration of marijuana in the following locations:
    • a. On any form of public transportation, except for low-THC cannabis.
    • b. In any public place, except for low-THC cannabis.
    • c. In a qualified patient’s place of employment, except when permitted by his or her employer.
    • d. In a state correctional institution, as defined in s. 944.02, or a correctional institution, as defined in s. 944.241.
    • e. On the grounds of a preschool, primary school, or secondary school, except as provided in s. 1006.062.
    • f. In a school bus, a vehicle, an aircraft, or a motorboat, except for low-THC cannabis.